Peter Strand Mystery Novellas

Author Ian McEwan once wrote that “the novella is the perfect form of prose fiction.”

“In our increasingly fast-paced world we believe there is a need for well-written, well-told books that can be read in one sitting. Rapid Reads are short books for adult readers. They are intended for a diverse audience, including ESL students, reluctant readers, adults who struggle with literacy and anyone who wants a high-interest quick read. The Rapid Reads series includes titles by best-selling authors Gail Bowen, Reed Farrel Coleman and William Kowalski, among many others.” – Orca Book Publishers

I strongly believe in both the art of the novella and in the mission of Orca’s Rapid Reads’ books. A young Chinese American, Peter Strand is the main character in my new San Francisco-based series of short novels.

What I hope to do with the Peter Strand series is to re-imagine the plot-oriented mystery in the tradition of Rex Stout and Agatha Christie, a story with minimal violence and with emphasis on the puzzle aspects of the crime. The books allow the reader to sleuth along with the detective. Here is more information about my first two books in the Rapid Reads series:

The Black Tortoise

Peter Strand is asked to investigate a San Francisco-based nonprofit arts organization located on a pier on San Francisco Bay near the Ferry Building. There he meets a cast of colorful, quirky characters who all seem to be hiding something. Peter soon finds evidence of a probable fraud, but is it the fraud that leads to murder? Or is it something else? Whatever it is, a suspicious drowning draws Strand deeper into a murky mystery. The murderer is finally unmasked, but at what personal expense? The Black Tortoise is the second book in the Peter Strand mystery series.

 

 


The Blue Dragon

A murder at a small apartment building in San Francisco’s Chinatown, prompts the absentee owner to hire Chinese American Peter Strand to calm the anxious tenants. But Strand isn’t exactly what he appears to be. Neither are the tenants who, on the surface, seem to be regular people going about their lives. Strand, a forensic accountant by trade, doesn’t intend to investigate the murder, but he soon realizes that this isn’t a gang-related killing, as the police believe. The murder was committed by one of the tenants. Finding out which one exposes the secrets of The Blue Dragon and brings Strand face-to-face with a few ghosts of his own. The Blue Dragon is available in paperback and e-book.